Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Hans Ströher

Prof. Hans Ströher is a full professor (C4) for Experimental Physics at the University of Cologne (Germany) and Director of the Institut für Kernphysik at Forschungzentrum Jülich since 1998.

From 1995 to 1998 Prof. Ströher was professor (C3) for Experimental Physics at Mainz University (Germany).

Prof. Ströher obtained his PhD in Physics (summa cum laude) and his habilitation at the University of Giessen (Germany).

Since 2003 Prof. Ströher is a member of the Nuclear Physics European Collaboration Committee (NuPECC) and since 2010 he is a member of the International Spin Physics Committee (ISPC).

Prof. Ströher has been Chair/Co-Chair of international conferences (STORI´05, SPIN2010 and MESON20xx) and workshops (WE Heraeus 2011, ECT* 2012) since 2011. From 2013 to 2019, he was a Co-Editor of the European Physical Journal (EPJ A).

Since 2014 Prof. Ströher has been the Chairman of the Scientific Council (WTR) of Forschungszentrum Jülich and the Deputy Chairman of the Scientific Councils (WTRV) of the Helmholtz Association of German Research Centers (HGF).

Prof. Ströher is co-author of 291 scientific papers. He is recipient of two ERC Advanced Grants from the European Research Council: POLPBAR (2010-2016) and srEDM (2016-2021).

In 2010 Prof. Ströher received a Doctor honoris causa from Ivane Javakhishvili Tbilisi State University (TSU) and in 2014 from the Georgian Technical University (GTU).

In 2012 he was granted the membership of “Euro Mediterranean Academy of Arts and Sciences” (EMAAS) and in 2014 he was granted the membership of “Academia Europaea” (AE).