Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Bernd Neumaier

Prof. Neumaier, born in in 1965, secured a PhD in Nuclear Chemistry at the University of Cologne under the supervision of Prof G. Stöcklin. At the University of Ulm at the Department of Nuclear Medicine he became the head of cyclotron/radiopharmacy in 1996. In 2006 he accepted a W2 position as the group leader of the cycltotron/radiochemistry group at the Max Planck Institute of Neurological Research in Cologne. In 2008 he obtained his venia legendi. In 2011 he was appointed as Adjunct Professor at the University of Cologne. He promoted to Professor of Nuclear Chemistry (W3) at the medical faculty of the University of Cologne in 2013. In this position he founded and became head of the Institute of Radiochemistry and Experimental Molecular Imaging at the University Hospital of Cologne. Additionally he is director of the Institute of Medicine and Neuroscience: INM-5 Nuclear Chemistry at the Forschungszentrum Jülich GmbH since 2015.

The research of Prof. Neumaier focuses on the development of novel and highly efficient 18F-fluorination strategies. Under his supervision the institute develops novel PET ligands contributing to the interdisciplinary elucidation of brain function and the underlying mechanisms of neurodegenerative diseases. Beside radiochemistry his laboratory engages also in the fields of organic and organometallic chemistry. A further research area deals with production and separation of non-standard radionuclides for clinical application in endoradiotherapy. In addition, in collaboration with the university hospitals in Aachen, Bonn, Cologne and Düsseldorf several other tracers have been developed for tumor imaging.

From 2011 to 2018 Prof. Neumaier was a member of the DGN Executive Board. Since 2015 he is Member of the Radiopharmaceutical Working Group of the Pharmaceutical Chemistry Committee of the German Pharmacopoeia Commission. He is Member of the Expert Group 14 (Radiopharmaceutical preparations) of the European Pharmacopoeia Commission (Since 2017) and Member of the Board of Directors of the specialist group Nuclear Chemistry of the German Chemical Society (GDCh) since 2019.